Awards & Juries
Children's Film Competition
Starboy Award

A jury of ten children presents the Starboy award of a statuette by Sanna Koivisto and 1000 euros, sponsored by the Oulun Energia company, to the director of the best film in the Children's film competition.

  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover
Youth Film Competition
Global Future Prize

The 4H Association of Oulu presents the Global Future Prize of 1000 euros to the best film in the youth film competition.

Finnish Competition
Look at Me... Award

The Media Foundation of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland grants a 1500-euro award to a Finnish feature or short film at the festival. The award is intended to support Finnish films for children and young people and encourage film makers to examine Christian responsibility and values.

  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover
Best European Children's Film
ECFA Film Award

The ECFA Award was founded by the European Children's Film Association in 2010. It is awarded to the best European film in the Children's film competition by a jury of three ECFA members.

  • Text Hover
ECFA Short Film Award

The ECFA Short Film Award was founded by the European Children's Film Association in 2018. It is awarded to the best European children's short film by a jury of three ECFA members.

Juries 2020
  • Text Hover
The Jury of Children's Film Competition
Matilda Hirvonen & Luukas Sirviö (Myllytullin koulu), Silla Palokangas & Roosa Puolanne (Teuvo Pakkalan koulu), Aino Alanärä, Viviana Flores & Lasse Tuohimaa (Tuiran koulu).
The Jury of Youth Film Competition
Salla Kalliokoski & Anna-Maria Siipola (4H), Nea Pohjola & Veera Valli (Oulun taidekoulu).
  • Text Hover
  • Text Hover
The Jury of Finnish Competition
Monica Vikström-Jokela
Born 1960. TV broadcaster, writer-director, author.
As a broadcaster for the Swedish-speaking children's programmes of the Finnish Broadcasting Company YLE she has written and directed among others the drama series Tommy tambur, Spegelvägen and Tanjas tambur, the longest-running YLE drama series for children, Bertil, and numerous televised advent calendars. In her spare time she has written fourteen children's books, stage and radio plays, librettos for two children's operas. She lives in Espoo.
The ECFA Jury
  • Text Hover
Jo-Anne Blouin
Jo-Anne Blouin has worked in the arts with and on behalf of children for all of her professional career. At the age of 16, in her native Quebec, she began working in theatre for children, and embarked in the heady world of creating collective works for children’s theatre. From theatre, she moved to film for children and created the Montreal International Children’s Film Festival, better known under its French acronym FIFEM. She still acts as CEO and artistic director of the festival that will hold its 24th edition in March 2021. In 2017, she was nominated Honorary Member of the European Children Film Association (ECFA), and in 2018 received an Honorary Award from Schlingel festival (Germany).
  • Text Hover
Veera Degerholm
Born 1971. She graduated in 1995 from the University of Tampere Programme in Theatre Arts. She has acted on the stage, the small and big screen. Since 2005 Degerholm has been active as writer, presenter and in other capacities on the Finnish Broadcasting Company's long-running children's programme "Pikku kakkonen". She has worked in many areas of children's culture.
  • Text Hover
Norbert Lechner
Norbert Lechner (1961) is screenwriter, director and producer. He graduated in German, philosophy and art history. During his studies he founded the production company KEVIN LEE Film. 1991 he directed and produced his first feature film WOUNDED FACES. He then worked as a screenwriter for radio and TV and directed/produced the documentary SEDUCTION (1996). His childrens-feature films THE BOY WHO LOOKS FOR GOLD (TONI GOLDWASCHER, 2007), TOM SAWYER AND HIS FRIENDS (TOM UND HACKE, 2012), and FORTUNE FAVORS THE BRAVE (ENTE GUT! 2016), made for children audience, won a lot of awards. His last feature film THE WALL BETWEEN US (ZWISCHEN UNS DIE MAUER) was shot in 2019.